Nova Scotia’s Finest. An Inspiration to All.


The strength of Nova Scotia’s cross-country ski community lies within the persevering attitudes of many committed volunteers and athletes. Every spring, CCNS formally recognizes the commitment and efforts of volunteers within our province, along with achievements of our Provincial Team athletes.

Dedicated individuals work tirelessly to improve the lives of others through skiing.  Volunteers perform the gamut of tasks, including: grooming trails through the dark, coaching participants of all ages, administering programs, officiating, organizing events, and much more.  Our competitive athletes dedicate themselves to mastering the technicalities of the sport, and race at competitions held locally, regionally, and nationally.

Our sport’s pioneers set the historic foundation decades ago – we are very grateful. Many skiers can be traced back through the generations to well-known inspirational builders. Thank-you to all, as we collectively work to carry on the legacy of cross-country skiing in Nova Scotia.

CCNS Awards

Would you like to recognize a dedicated volunteer? Review the categories below and be sure to nominate inspiring individuals to your club, by March 15th, yearly. Clubs advise CCNS of nominations, and CCNS Board executives vote to select award recipients. Provincial Team awards are determined by established criteria.


Volunteer of the YearRecognizes dedication to advancing the sport &/or athletes.Rosemary Algar
Coach / Instructor of the YearRecipients demonstrate exceptional commitment to athletes.Lilla Roy
Official of the YearLeadership and dedication by volunteer officials.N/A
Corporate Sponsor of the YearOutstanding support by sponsors who go above and beyond.Seaview Golf and Country Club
Freda Wales AwardRecognizes a woman who has made a significant contribution to cross-country skiing in Nova Scotia.Rosemary Algar

Provincial Team Athletes

Athlete of the Year – Jr. FemaleCanada Points List, highest score Fiona McClure
Athlete of the Year – Jr. MaleCanada Points List, highest score Ogen Newcomb
Athlete of the Year – Sr. FemaleCanada Points List, highest score Maggie McClure
Athlete of the Year – Sr. MaleCanada Points List, highest score Colin Ward
Bryan Scallion Award – FemaleNS Provincial Championships, fastest timeEvent cancelled
Brayan Scallion Award – MaleNS Provincial Championships, fastest timeEvent cancelled
Sue Hill AwardMost ImprovedGrace McIntyre

Historic Winners

View award recipients from previous years (click here – PDF). Coming soon.

Support4Sport Awards

The Support4Sport Awards honours the achievements of Nova Scotia’s athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and sponsors from sport organizations province-wide. This prestigious event is coordinated by Sport Nova Scotia and typically draws over 600 attendees to the Halifax Convention Centre, annually in June. The title sponsor for the event is Nova Scotia Gaming Corporation’s “Support4Sport” program.

Learn more about the Support4Sport Awards, by visiting the event website (click here).

“Demanding practice schedules and travelling for games doesn’t leave much time for reflection. This is a unique opportunity to take a night off, relax and celebrate the top athletic achievements in Nova Scotia. The people here tonight have devoted so much of their lives to sport and we are humbled to honour them.” – June 1, 2019. Support4Sport Awards.

Jamie Ferguson. CEO, Sport Nova Scotia.

Nomination and Judging Process

Provincial sport organizations (PSO’s) submit one nominee per category. These are the “PSO winners”. Winners for each sport can then go forward for the overall award in the same category (across all sports). 

Annually, CCNS submits an entry for applicable categories which include: Coach of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Official of the Year, and Corporate Sponsor of the Year.

Learn more about the judging process by viewing the event website (click this link).

Nordiq Canada Awards

Nordiq Canada recognizes that volunteer dedication makes our cross-country skiing communities stronger. Annually, Nordiq Canada presents awards to recipients at the NC Annual General Meeting, typically held in June.

Awards presented by Nordiq Canada are listed below. If you would like to nominate an inspiring volunteer, please visit the NC awards page to learn more (click here).

Full criteria (click here).
Nova Scotia Volunteers
Dave Reese AwardAwarded to any man or woman
who has made a long-term, out-standing commitment to the sport of cross country skiing in Canada.
The Firth AwardAwarded to any woman who has made an outstanding contribution to cross country skiing in Canada. Linda Murray
North Highlands Nordic
Volunteer of the Year AwardAwarded to men or women who
have made a significant contribution to the local, regional or national development of cross country skiing.
Sponsor of the Year AwardAwarded to the Sponsor or
Supplier who goes beyond the scope of their sponsorship agreement with CCC by making a significant commitment/support to the sport, and to the National Ski Teams.
Media AwardAwarded to an individual, a newspaper publisher, or television station (member of the media) who has taken the time and effort to highlight and portray athletes in the sport, as well as continually writes or publishes
articles and press releases about the sport of cross country skiing.


Enter your e-mail to receive updates about Nova Scotia’s cross-country ski community and Nordiq Canada.